William J. Rieckleman Memorial Award

James Klatte


A man who has demonstrated leadership at every level of the order he has served, from council to district e to state committees, has been recognized as Greater Cincinnati’s Knight of the Year.

James Klatte of Mason, was presented with the William J. Rieckelman Memorial Award, at a recent Knights of Columbus Christmas dinner , sponsored by Mother Seton Council of Price Hill.

The award was established to recognize superior service and leadership to charity, family, community, church and the order. It is named in memory of a Knight who was a faithful member of Elder Council for more than 50 years.

Mr. Klatte currently serves at vice president of the Greater Cincinnati Chapter of K of C councils. He is a past grand knight of St. Michael Council in Sharonville and past faithful navigator of St. John’s 4th Degree Assembly in West Chester.

As a district deputy, he was instrumental in the establishment of two new councils and a fourth degree assembly. He also has served on the state committee for membership. His willingness to not only get involved but to take leading roles in numerous programs, serves as an inspiration to others in the order.

Nominations for the greater Cincinnati's "Knight of the Year" honor ended Mid November, Select the following Word file, save it as the Candidate's name, fill it out electronically, save it again and attach it to an email and send it to either Tom or Al.

Application Form(Word Document):Word Version Application Form
Send to:

Elder Council 1195,
7630 Shawnee Run Rd,
Cincinnati, OH 45243

or email to:

Al Stevenson gamas@fuse.net or
Tom Hahn tjhahn@cinci.rr.com

Click Here for Online Form

The award, sponsored by Elder Council, will be presented at the Greater Cincinnati Knights of Columbus Chapter's Christmas Party, Saturday December 1st, at Mother Seton Council, where a delicious roast beef and chicken dinner is planned.

The award is named William J. Rieckleman Memorial Award in honor of an Elder member who attended meetings for 50 years.

William J. Rieckleman Memorial Award

Cincinnati Knight of the Year

Year Winner Council
1968 Ronald Kunze Mother Seton Council #3376
1969 Ernest H. Richards Archbishop Moeller Council #3861
1970 Herman Wilmers Archbishop Elder Council #1195
1971 Robert Bastin La Salle Council #5621
1972 Edward Walsh St. Patrick Council #1747
1973 John R. Hackman Glenmary Council #5674
1974 William Hartlaub Archbishop Moeller Council #3861
1975 Larry Werling Mother Seton Council #3376
1976 Joseph Kelly Msgr. Gerdes Council #3123
1977 Lawrence M. Fehrenback Madonna Council #3891
1978 Glenn J. Haenuing Madonna Council #3891
1979 William Blankemeyer Archbishop Elder Council #1195
1980 Richard Kellerman Msgr. Gerdes Council #3123
1981 Raymond J. Bross Mother Seton Council #33763
1982 Joseph F. Middeler Msgr. Gerdes Council #3123
1983 none
1984 William M. Reichert Glenmary Council #1674
1985 Daniel L. Metz Harrison Council #2633
1986 Matthew W. Kettler Mother Seton Council #3376
1987 Donald C. Beeber St. Michael Council #3382
1988 none
1989 John G. Greer Msgr. Gerdes Council #3123
1990 Michael Nesi Glenmary Council #5674
1991 David J. Sheridan Fr. Sword Council #242
1992 Clifford W. Mulvlany Archbishop Elder Council #1195
1993 John M. Edwards, Jr. St. Martin DePorres Council #5624
1994 Raymond W. Asbrock St. Michael Council #3382
1995 Kenneth P. Gardner St. Joseph of Three Rivers Council #11550
1996 Raymond W. Dyer, Jr. St. Michael Council #3382
1997 Lawrence J. Huxell Archbishop Elder Council #1195
1998 Rev. Gerald A. Evers Glenmary Council #5674
1999 John R. Holden Archbishop Elder Council #1195
2000 Raymond C. Kuhnell Archbishop Elder Council #1195
2001 Eugene B. Cordier Bishop Fenwick Council #2927
2002 Denzeal Smith and Frank P. Kammer III St. Martin DePorres Council #5624 and La Salle Council #5621
2003 Rick Cmar Msgr. Gerdes Council #3123
2004 John J. DeStefano St. Margaret of York Council #13429
2005 Carl Koors Harrison Council #2633
2006 Jack Thies St. Patrick Council #1747
2007 Robert Dashley Madonna Council #3891
2008 Ted Kelleher Fr. O'Donoghue Council #3369
2009 Dick Tabler Purcell Council
2010 Richard Wysong St. Michael Council
2011 James Klatte St. Michael Council